NDC, NPP split seats on Parliament’s appointment, Business Committees


Parliament has announced members of the Appointments Committee with both parties represented in the house having 13 slots each.

The last appointment committee had 16 NPP MPs against 10 from the NDC side. The new committee has as chairperson, the first deputy speaker and MP for Bekwai, Joe Osei-Owusu. The vice-chair is Alexander Kwabena Afenyo-Markin.

Ursula Owusu Ekuful, Mathew Opoku Prempeh, Patricia Appiagyei, Frank Annoh-Dompreh, Osei Bonsu Amoah and Patrick Yaw Boamah are some NPP MPs on the committee.

Leader of the NDC caucus, Haruna Idrissu and the party’s chief whip, Mohammed Muntaka Mubarak are also on the committee. Other NDC members on the committee include Mahama Ayariga, Sampson Ahi, Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, Alhassan Suhuyini, James Agalga and Francis Xavier Sosu.

With no clear majority in the house where both National Democratic Congress, NDC and ruling New Patriotic Party, NPP, have 137 MPs apiece, it took the alignment of independent lawmaker, Fomena MP and second deputy speaker to enable the NPP to be declared the ‘majority group.’

The appointments committee recommends to Parliament for approval or persons nominated by President for appointment as Minister of State, Deputy Minister, Members of Council of State, the Chief Justice and other Justices of the Supreme Court and any other persons specified under the constitution or under any other enactment.

The Business Committee was also constituted with 10 members apiece. That committee is led by leader of the NPP caucus, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, with Afenyo Markin as vice-chairperson.
Composition Of The Appointments’ Committee Of Parliament (13-12)

Majority Caucus

Hon. Joseph Osei-Wusu (Chairman)

Hon. Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu

Hon. Alexander Afenyo-Markin

Hon. Matthew Opoku Prempeh

Hon. Patricia Apiagyei

Hon. Ambrose Derry

Hon. Joe Ghartey

Hon. Henry Quartey

Hon. Dan Kwaku Botwe

Hon. Dominic Ntiwul

Hon. Samuel Atta Akyea

Hon. Ntim Fordjour

Hon. Sarah Adwoa Safoa

Minority Caucus

Hon. Haruna Iddrisu

Hon. James Klutse Avedzi

Hon. Muntaka Mubarak

Hon. Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa

Hon. Cletus Avoka

Hon. Eric Opoku

Hon. Ahmed Ibrahim

Hon. Mahama Ayariga

Hon. Alhassan Suhyini

Hon. Dominic Ayine

Hon. Isaac Adongo

Hon.John Jinapor

Source: sharpnewsgh.com

In the news
Load More